17 49ers named starters or alternates in Pro Bowl

The 49ers just announced nine of their players have made the Pro Bowl. Seven players will start. They are FS Dashon Goldson, LG Mike Iupati, LB Aldon Smith, DT Justin Smith, LT Joe Staley, SS Donte Whitner and LB Patrick Willis.

LB NaVorro Bowman and RB Frank Gore will come off the bench.

Eight 49ers have also been named Pro Bowl alternates. They are RG Alex Boone, LB Ahmad Brooks, OT Anthony Davis, TE Vernon Davis, C Jonathan Goodwin, P Andy Lee, CB Carlos Rogers and C.J. Spillman.

Notice that all five offensive linemen and all four linebackers made the team or are alternates.

Also, notice that Carlos Rogers is an alternate over Tarell Brown, and Vernon Davis is an alternate over Michael Crabtree. Were Brown and Crabtree snubbed? Should they have been alternates instead of Rogers and Davis? Why or why not?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *