53 underclassmen declare for NFL draft

The NFL announced this morning that 53 non-seniors have been granted special eligibility into the 2010 draft, which will take place April 22-24.


Last year, 46 players declared early for the draft. This year’s total matches 2008 as the most underclassmen to be granted eligibility after fulfilling the league’s three-year eligibility rule. (A college player must be three years out of high school in order to be eligible for the draft.)


This list includes a lot of players who are distinct possibilities for the 49ers with their scheduled selections at No. 13 and No. 16 or 17 (pending a coin toss). Certainly, all three offensive tackles are worthy of serious consideration.


The first round of the draft will be held Thursday, April 22, beginning at 4:30 p.m. (PT). The second and third rounds are scheduled for Friday, April 23, beginning at 3:30 p.m. And Rounds 4-7 will be held Saturday, April 24, beginning at 7 a.m.


Here is the breakdown of special-eligibility players, sorted by position:


Quarterbacks (3)

Sam Bradford, Oklahoma

Jimmy Clausen, Notre Dame

Jevan Snead, Mississippi


Running backs (6)

Jahvid Best, Cal

Jonathan Dwyer, Georgia Tech

Darius Marshall, Marshall

Ryan Mathews, Fresno State

Joe McKnight, USC

Shawnbrey McNeal, Southern Methodist


Wide receivers (9)

Arrelious Benn, Illinois

Dezmon Briscoe, Kansas

Antonio Brown, Central Michigan

Dez Bryant, Oklahoma State

Carlton Mitchell, South Florida

Golden Tate, Notre Dame

Demaryius Thomas, Georgia Tech

Damian Williams, USC

Mike Williams, Syracus


Tight ends (3)

Jermaine Gresham, Oklahoma

Rob Gonkowski, Arizona

Aaron Hernandez, Florida


Tackles (3)

Bryan Bulaga, Iowa

Bruce Campbell, Maryland

Anthony Davis, Rutgers


Center (1)

Maurkice Pouncey, Florida


Defensive ends (8)

Kevin Basped, Nevada

Carlos Dunlap, Florida

Clifton Geathers, South Carolina

Thaddeus Gibson, Ohio State

Everson Griffen, USC

Derrick Morgan, Georgia Tech

Jason Paul-Pierre, South Florida

Jason Worilds, Virginia Tech


Defensive tackles (3)

Linval Joseph, East Carolina

Gerald McCoy, Oklahoma

Brian Price, UCLA


Linebackers (3)

Navorro Bowman, Penn State

Rennie Curran, Georgia

Rolando McClain, Alabama


Defensive backs (14)

Eric Berry, Tennessee

Morgan Burnett, Georgia Tech

Dominique Franks, Oklahoma

Joe Haden, Florida

Kareem Jackson, Alabama

Chad Jones, LSU

Rashad Jones, Georgia

Joshua Moore, Kansas State

Jerell Norton, Arkansas

Dennis Rogan, Tennessee

Amari Spievey, Iowa

Earl Thomas, Texas

Donovan Warren, Michigan

Major Wright, Florida


* * *


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *