Senior Bowl will not feature the 49ers’ staff

*Includes updated 2009 Senior Bowl rosters*

* * *

There is big news out of Mobile, Ala.

The 49ers will NOT coach in this year’s Senior Bowl. The 49ers coached the South squad in each of the past three years. Instead, the staffs of the Bengals and Jaguars have been selected to coach later this month.


The 49ers utilized 11 draft picks the past three seasons on players who participated in the Senior Bowl. By and large, the Senior Bowl was very kind of the 49ers, as they chose Senior Bowl alums Manny Lawson, Michael Robinson, Parys Haralson, Marcus Hudson, Patrick Willis, Joe Staley, Jason Hill, Ray McDonald, Jay Moore, Thomas Clayton and Cody Wallace.


I’ve pieced together a partial list of the draft-eligible players who have accepted invitation to play in the game, which will take place Jan. 24.




(Updated Jan. 15)


Alabama: quarterback John Parker Wilson, tight end Travis McCall, center Antoine Caldwell and safety Rashad Johnson.

Auburn: defensive lineman Tyronne Green.

Boston College: defensive tackle B.J. Raji and defensive lineman Ron Brace.

California: center Alex Mack and linebacker Zack Follett.

Cal Poly: wide receiver Ramses Barden

Cincinnati: defensive backs Mike Mickens and Deangelo Smith, offensive guard Trevor Canfield, punter Kevin Huber and tight end Connor Barwin

Florida: wide receiver Louis Murphy and offensive line Jason Watkins

Central Arkansas: quarterback Nathan Brown

Clemson: quarterback Cullen Harper, running back James Davis and safety Michael Hamlin.

Connecticut: offensive lineman William Beatty, defensive back Darius Butler and defensive lineman Cody Brown. 

Georgia: wide receiver Mohamed Massaquoi and defensive tackle Corvey Irvin.

Georgia Tech: defensive linemen Michael Johnson and Vance Walker

Iowa: defensive tackle Mitch King.

Jackson State: wide receiver Domonique Johnson

Liberty: running back Rashad Jennings

Louisville: center Eric Wood

LSU: linebacker Darry Beckwith, wide receiver Demetrius Byrd, offensive lineman Herman Johnson, defensive end Tyson Jackson and fullback Quinn Johnson.

Michigan State: running back Javon Ringer.

Mississippi: offensive tackle Michael Oher, defensive tackle Peria Jerry and linebacker Ashlee Palmer

Mississippi State: defensive back/return specialist Derek Pegues

Navy: fullback Eric Kettani.

North Carolina: wide receiver Brooks Foster.

North Carolina State: tight end Anthony Hill and running back Andre Brown

Northern Illinois: defensive end Larry English.

Notre Dame: safety David Bruton.

Oklahoma: safety Nic Harris, wide receiver Juaquin Iglesias and offensive linemen Phil Loadholt and Duke Robinson.

Oklahoma State: tight end Brandon Pettigrew.

Oregon: center Max Unger, running back Jeremiah Johnson and safety Patrick Chung.

Oregon State: offensive tackle Andy Levitre and cornerback Keenan Lewis.

Penn State: wide receiver Derrick Williams.

Pittsburgh: linebacker Scott McKillop and long snapper Mark Estermyer.

Sam Houston State: quarterback Rhett Bomar

South Carolina: wide receiver Kenny McKinley.

South Florida: linebacker Tyrone McKenzie

Southern Mississippi: tight end Shawn Nelson

Syracuse: fullback Tony Fiammetta

Tennessee: running back Arian Foster, defensive end Robert Ayers and offensive guard Anthony Parker.

Texas: wide receiver Quan Cosby

Troy: safety Sherrod Martin

Tulane: offensive tackle Troy Kropog

Texas Tech: quarterback Graham Harrell.

USC: linebackers Rey Maualuga, Brian Cushing and Clay Matthews and defensive linemen Fili Moala and Kyle Moore, and wide receiver Patrick Turner.

Virginia: offensive tackle Eugene Monroe, running back Cedric Peerman, tight end John Phillips and linebacker Clint Sintim

Virginia Tech: defensive back Macho Harris

Washington State: wide receiver Brandon Gibson

Western Michigan: safety Louis Delmas.

Wake Forest: linebacker Aaron Curry, defensive back Alphonso Smith and safety Chip Vaughn.

West Virginia: quarterback Pat White and defensive back/return specialist Ellis Lankster.

Wisconsin: offensive lineman Kraig Urbik.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *