Patrick Willis named to AP All-Pro first team

(Update with Willis being the first player in team history named to All-Pro team in each of his first four seasons).

They don’t have a playoff appearance or a winning season since 2002, but the 49ers do have linebacker Patrick Willis.

Willis, the lone superstar on a team that has a 26-38 record during his career, was named to the Associated Press NFL All-Pro team today.

A first-team selection, Willis received the most votes among inside linebackers. In his four-year career, Willis is a three-time, first-team All-Pro and was named to the second team in 2008.

Willis is the first player in team history to be named All-Pro in each of his first four seasons. Running back Hugh McElhenny was an All-Pro in his first three seasons (1952-54), earning first-team honors his first two years in the league.

Since 2004, Willis is one of just three Niners to earn All-Pro honors and one of two named to the first team. Running back Frank Gore was a second-team selection in 2006 and punter Andy Lee earned first-team honors in 2007 and was a second-team selection last year. The last Niners position player besides Willis to earn first-team All-Pro honors was linebacker Julian Peterson in 2003.

Willis ranked 10th in the NFL in tackles this past season with 128 despite missing the first game of his career with a broken right hand. Willis, who ranked second on the Niners with a career-high six sacks, played in two games with a large black cast on his hand.

Willis has the most tackles in the NFL (595) since 2007, according to league statistics. Carolina linebacker Jon Beason ranks second with 540 and the Redskins’ London Fletcher (539) is third.

Tight end Vernon Davis and defensive tackle Justin Smith were the only other 49ers to earn All-Pro votes.

Here’s the All-Pro teams and the voting:


Quarterback – Tom Brady, New England.
Running backs – Jamaal Charles, Kansas City; Arian Foster, Houston.
Fullback – Vonta Leach, Houston.
Tight end – Jason Witten, Dallas.
Wide receivers – Roddy White, Atlanta; Reggie Wayne, Indianapolis.
Tackles – Jake Long, Miami; Joe Thomas, Cleveland.
Guards – Logan Mankins, New England; Jahri Evans, New Orleans.
Center – Nick Mangold, N.Y. Jets.
Kicker – Billy Cundiff, Baltimore.
Kick returner – Devin Hester, Chicago.

Ends – Julius Peppers, Chicago; John Abraham, Atlanta.
Tackles – Haloti Ngata, Baltimore; Ndamukong Suh, Detroit.
Outside linebackers – Clay Matthews, Green Bay; James Harrison, Pittsburgh.
Inside linebacker – Patrick Willis, 49ers; Jerod Mayo, New England.
Cornerbacks – Nnamdi Asomugha, Raiders; Darrelle Revis, N.Y. Jets.
Safeties – Troy Polamalu, Pittsburgh; Ed Reed, Baltimore.
Punter – Shane Lechler, Raiders.


Quarterback – Vacant.
Running backs – Michael Turner, Atlanta; Adrian Peterson, Minnesota.
Fullback – Ovie Mughelli, Atlanta.
Tight end – Antonio Gates, San Diego.
Wide receivers – Brandon Lloyd, Denver; Calvin Johnson, Detroit, and Dwayne Bowe, Kansas City (tie).
Tackles – Jason Peters, Philadelphia; Sebastian Vollmer, New England.
Guards – Chris Snee, N.Y. Giants; Carl Nicks, New Orleans.
Center – Maurkice Pouncey, Pittsburgh.
Kicker – David Akers, Philadelphia.
Kick returner – Leon Washington, Seattle.

Ends – Osi Umenyiora, N.Y. Giants; Justin Tuck, N.Y. Giants.
Tackles – Vince Wilfork, New England; Kyle Williams, Buffalo.
Outside linebackers – Cameron Wake, Miami; DeMarcus Ware, Dallas.
Inside linebackers – Brian Urlacher, Chicago; Ray Lewis, Baltimore.
Cornerbacks – Devin McCourty, New England; Charles Woodson, Green Bay.
Safeties – Nick Collins, Green Bay; and (the following tied) Antrel Rolle, N.Y. Giants; Eric Weddle, San Diego; Malcolm Jenkins, New Orleans; Quintin Mikell, Philadelphia; Chris Harris, Chicago; Michael Huff, Raiders; Michael Griffin, Tennessee; and Darren Sharper, New Orleans (tie).
Punter – Mat McBriar, Dallas.

Tom Brady, 50.
Running backs
Arian Foster, Houston, 45; Jamaal Charles, Kansas City, 33; Michael Turner, Atlanta, 8; Adrian Peterson, Minnesota, 6; Maurice Jones-Drew, Jacksonville, 5.
Vonta Leach, Houston, 17; Ovie Mughelli, Baltimore, 13; Le’Ron McClain, Baltimore, 7; Lawrence Vickers, Cleveland, 4; Greg Jones, Jacksonville, 4; Michael Turner, Atlanta, 1; Jason Snelling, Atlanta, 1; John Kuhn, Green Bay, 1; Marcel Reece, Raiders, 1.
Tight end
Jason Witten, Dallas, 36; Antonio Gates, San Diego, 8; Marcedes Lewis, Jacksonville, 3; Vernon Davis, 49ers, 2; Rob Gronkowski, New England, 1.
Wide receivers
Roddy White, Atlanta, 47; Reggie Wayne, Indianapolis, 18; Brandon Lloyd, Denver, 10; Calvin Johnson, Detroit, 8; Dwayne Bowe, Kansas City, 8; Andre Johnson, Houston, 5; Greg Jennings, Green Bay, 2; Mike Wallace, Pittsburgh, 2.
Joe Thomas, Cleveland, 22; Jake Long, Miami, 21; Jason Peters, Philadelphia, 11; Sebastian Vollmer, New England, 7; D’Brickashaw Ferguson, N.Y. Jets, 6; Donald Penn, Tampa Bay, 5; Andrew Whitworth, Cincinnati, 5; Kareem McKenzie, N.Y. Giants, 4; Jordan Gross, Carolina, 4; Chad Clifton, Green Bay, 4; Marshal Yanda, Baltimore, 2; David Stewart, Tennessee, 2; Michael Roos, Tennessee, 1; Michael Oher, Baltimore, 1; Tyson Clabo, Atlanta, 1; Matt Light, New England, 1; Sam Baker, Atlanta, 1; Damien Woody, N.Y. Jets, 1; Eric Winston, Houston, 1.
Jahri Evans, New Orleans, 24; Logan Mankins, New England, 15; Chris Snee, N.Y. Giants, 14; Carl Nicks, New Orleans, 13; Brian Waters, Kansas City, 12; Kris Dielman, San Diego, 9; Josh Sitton, Green Bay, 5; Brandon Moore, N.Y. Jets, 3; Ryan Lilja, Kansas City, 3; Steve Hutchinson, Minnesota, 1; Rich Seubert, N.Y. Giants, 1.
Nick Mangold, N.Y. Jets, 37; Maurkice Pouncey, Pittsburgh, 11; Casey Wiegmann, Kansas City, 1; Alex Mack, Cleveland, 1.
Billy Cundiff, Baltimore 24; David Akers, Philadelphia, 10; Sebastian Janikowski, Raiders, 4; Rob Bironas, Tennessee, 4; Matt Bryant, Atlanta, 4; Adam Vinatieri, Indianapolis, 3; Neil Rackers, Houston, 1.
Kick returner
Devin Hester, Chicago, 43; Leon Washington, Seattle, 4; Jacoby Ford, Raiders, 2; Marc Mariani, Tennessee, 1.


Julius Peppers, Carolina, 35; John Abraham, Atlanta, 21; Justin Tuck, N.Y. Giants, 16; Osi Umenyiora, N.Y. Giants, 9; Dwight Freeney, Indianapolis, 7; Trent Cole, Philadelphia, 4; Jason Babin, Tennessee, 2; Jared Allen, Minnesota, 2; Robert Mathis, Indianapolis, 1; Cameron Wake, Miami, 1; Vince Wilfork, New England, 1; Justin Smith, 49ers, 1.
Haloti Ngata, Baltimore, 45; Ndamukong Suh, Detroit, 30; Vince Wilfork, New England, 15; Kyle Williams, Buffalo, 3; Justin Smith, 49ers, 2; B.J. Raji, Green Bay, 1; Casey Hampton, Pittsburgh, 1; Jonathan Babineaux, Atlanta, 1.
Outside linebackers
Clay Matthews, Green Bay, 39; James Harrison, Pittsburgh, 31; DeMarcus Ware, Dallas, 9; Cameron Wake, Miami, 9; Tamba Hali, Kansas City, 7; Lance Briggs, Chicago, 2; Terrell Suggs, Baltimore, 1.
Inside linebacker
Patrick Willis, 49ers, 28; Jerod Mayo, New England, 21; Brian Urlacher, Chicago, 20; Ray Lewis, Baltimore, 18; Lawrence Timmons, Pittsburgh, 8; Jonathan Vilma, New Orleans, 1; Derrick Johnson, Kansas City, 1; A.J. Hawk, Green Bay, 1.
Nnamdi Asomugha, Raiders, 20; Darrelle Revis, N.Y. Jets, 19; Devin McCourty, New England, 17; Charles Woodson, Green Bay, 14; Asante Samuel, Philadelphia, 12; Tramon Williams, Green Bay, 8; Brent Grimes, Atlanta 3; DeAngelo Hall, Washington, 2; Champ Bailey, Denver, 2; Joe Haden, Cleveland, 1; Brandon Flowers, Kansas City, 1; Antoine Winfield, Minnesota, 1.
Troy Polamalu, Pittsburgh, 47; Ed Reed, Baltimore, 41; Nick Collins, Green Bay, 4; Darren Sharper, New Orleans, 1; Antrel Rolle, N.Y. Giants, 1; Malcolm Jenkins, New Orleans, 1; Michael Griffin, Tennessee, 1; Eric Weddle, San Diego, 1; Chris Harris, Chicago, 1; Michael Huff, Raiders, 1; Quintin Mikell, Philadelphia, 1.
Shane Lechler, Raiders, 34; Mat McBriar, Dallas, 11; Sam Koch, Baltimore, 3; Donnie Jones, St. Louis, 2.

Comments are closed.